eSIM or physical SIM: compare the phone, installation and dated Japan rows
An eSIM is a profile installed on a compatible phone; a physical SIM is a removable card. The maker tables read on 2026-09-30 show whether a model has eSIM, dual eSIM and a physical-SIM slot. The dated Japan rows then show the available travel eSIM prices without pretending that a physical-SIM price is known.
The decision fields in the maker lists
| Question | What the maker source contains | What it means for the comparison |
|---|---|---|
| eSIM support | The maker lists each model as yes, no, region-limited or unknown. | Check the exact model and purchase region in the phone checker. |
| Physical SIM | Apple and Google rows include a Physical SIM also field; Samsung's dated table leaves that field unknown for its listed models. | A model can have eSIM and a physical slot, or the source can leave the physical-SIM result open. |
| Dual eSIM | The Apple table marks iPhone 13 and later rows as yes; other rows can be unknown. | Keep the model-level result beside the purchase decision. |
| Installation | The site method says a travel eSIM is installed by scanning a QR code or entering a provider code. | Installation needs internet access and a compatible, unlocked phone; provider instructions vary. |
| Keeping a number | The provider rows do not state that a travel eSIM supplies or transfers a home phone number. | The number-keeping answer remains a home-carrier question. |
The phone data was read from Apple's support list, Google's Pixel help, and Samsung's compatibility page on 2026-09-30. The lists are source checks; they do not guarantee activation on a particular carrier account.
Dated Japan eSIM rows in the currencies shown
| Provider | Data | Days | Listed price | Network | Read on |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nomad | 1 GB | 7 | €3.51 | KDDI au / SoftBank | 2026-09-30 |
| Nomad | 3 GB | 30 | €6.14 | KDDI au / SoftBank | 2026-09-30 |
| Yesim | 1 GB | 30 | €3.70 | Not stated | 2026-09-30 |
| Yesim | 5 GB | 30 | €8.80 | Not stated | 2026-09-30 |
| Saily | 1 GB | 7 | $3.99 | Not stated | 2026-09-30 |
| Ubigi | 1 GB | 30 | $4.00 | KDDI / NTT Docomo | 2026-09-30 |
The rows keep EUR and USD separate. No physical-SIM price is in the comparison data, so this table does not claim a cost winner between the two SIM forms.
Installation and number use
The site method describes QR-code or provider-code installation. The phone must support eSIM and be unlocked from its carrier. The provider rows are mainly data plans: Nomad says most of its eSIMs do not include a phone number, and Yesim says voice calls, SMS and MMS cannot be made with its eSIM. Saily's help excerpt describes an SMS notification sent to the Saily eSIM. It does not describe a personal number. These statements leave the home-number decision with the traveller's carrier and device setup.
An iPhone 13 row in the maker table says eSIM yes, dual eSIM yes and physical SIM yes. The iPhone 15 rows are region-limited for eSIM and still list a physical SIM, with the note that the eSIM-only configuration applies to models purchased in the United States. The maker lists should be read for the exact model before removing a physical card.
Airalo and Holafly are omitted because their sites do not let other sites republish their prices.
An example: an unlocked iPhone 15 and 1 GB for seven days in Japan
Take a traveller with an unlocked iPhone 15 who wants about 1 GB for seven days in Japan. The Apple row read on 2026-09-30 lists eSIM and dual eSIM for the iPhone 15, and lists a physical SIM for models bought outside the United States, so the purchase region decides whether the phone has a physical slot at all. Among the dated eSIM rows, Nomad offers 1 GB for 7 days at €3.51 and Saily offers 1 GB for 7 days at $3.99. A physical-SIM price and the traveller's home-carrier number policy are missing from the source.
Related checks
Use the Japan comparison, phone checker, iPhone compatibility list and price method before opening a provider page.
Dated plan rows
| Provider | Plan | Data | Days | Price | Per GB | Network | Hotspot | Read | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nomad | 1GB 7 days | 1 GB | 7 | €3.51 | €3.51 | KDDI au / SoftBank | Allowed | 2026-09-30 | Nomad's storefront |
| Nomad | 3GB 30 days | 3 GB | 30 | €6.14 | €2.05 | KDDI au / SoftBank | Allowed | 2026-09-30 | Nomad's storefront |
| Nomad | 1GB 7 days | 1 GB | 7 | €4.83 | €4.83 | Multiple Providers | Allowed | 2026-09-30 | Nomad's storefront |
| Nomad | 3GB 30 days | 3 GB | 30 | €10.53 | €3.51 | Multiple Providers | Allowed | 2026-09-30 | Nomad's storefront |
| Nomad | 1GB 7 days | 1 GB | 7 | €4.39 | €4.39 | True / AIS / dtac | Allowed | 2026-09-30 | Nomad's storefront |
| Nomad | 3GB 30 days | 3 GB | 30 | €5.26 | €1.75 | True / AIS / dtac | Allowed | 2026-09-30 | Nomad's storefront |
| Nomad | 1GB 7 days | 1 GB | 7 | €3.51 | €3.51 | Avea | Allowed | 2026-09-30 | Nomad's storefront |
| Nomad | 3GB 30 days | 3 GB | 30 | €5.26 | €1.75 | Avea | Allowed | 2026-09-30 | Nomad's storefront |
| Yesim | 1GB 30 days | 1 GB | 30 | €3.70 | €3.70 | Not stated | Most plans | 2026-09-30 | Yesim source page |
| Yesim | 5GB 30 days | 5 GB | 30 | €8.80 | €1.76 | Not stated | Most plans | 2026-09-30 | Yesim source page |
| Yesim | 1GB 30 days | 1 GB | 30 | €2.50 | €2.50 | Not stated | Most plans | 2026-09-30 | Yesim's storefront |
| Yesim | 5GB 30 days | 5 GB | 30 | €9.60 | €1.92 | Not stated | Most plans | 2026-09-30 | Yesim's storefront |
| Yesim | 1GB 30 days | 1 GB | 30 | €2.60 | €2.60 | Not stated | Most plans | 2026-09-30 | Yesim source page |
| Yesim | 5GB 30 days | 5 GB | 30 | €7.00 | €1.40 | Not stated | Most plans | 2026-09-30 | Yesim source page |
| Yesim | 1GB 30 days | 1 GB | 30 | €2.00 | €2.00 | Not stated | Most plans | 2026-09-30 | Yesim source page |
| Yesim | 5GB 30 days | 5 GB | 30 | €9.00 | €1.80 | Not stated | Most plans | 2026-09-30 | Yesim source page |
| Saily | 1GB 7 days | 1 GB | 7 | $3.99 | $3.99 | Not stated | Not stated | 2026-09-30 | Saily's website |
| Saily | 1GB 7 days | 1 GB | 7 | $2.99 | $2.99 | Not stated | Not stated | 2026-09-30 | Saily's website |
| Saily | 1GB 7 days | 1 GB | 7 | $3.99 | $3.99 | Not stated | Not stated | 2026-09-30 | Saily's website |
| Ubigi | 1GB 30 days | 1 GB | 30 | $4.00 | $4.00 | KDDI / NTT Docomo | Allowed | 2026-09-30 | Ubigi's plan page |